Week 8 – Integrating popular technology into the classroom

After reading the article ‘Creativity in my pocket: No ‘I’ puns here’ (Derby, 2011), I am left pondering the early introduction of technology in my own schooling life. I can clearly remember the first piece of ‘educational technology’ being introduced to our school. I still remember what it looked like, but after a half hour internet search and facebook friend ‘help me’ status, I still can’t remember what they were called! I do however, remember them being coveted by every class in the school. They were simple compared to what our children have access to today, just a typing simulator with word games but oh how we all wanted to have a turn. How times have changed.

3ds max retro keyboard key - Retro Keyboard... by Boarini Pictures

Edit: After much searching and helpful friends I ‘think’ it was something like this. But i’m sure it was read and blue! Image sourced from http://www.turbosquid.com/3d-models/3ds-max-retro-keyboard-key/600801 I think it was called a ‘TypeWrite’ but can’t find any evidence on the internet!

The most interesting comment I picked from the Derby reading (2011, p100) is that ‘good teaching and learning arises when students are engaged in what they are doing’. How true. I might not remember much from those primary school years, but I do remember those little keyboard things. Those little educational word games were just the ticket for some of the more reluctant learners and we were all eager to beat each other’s top score and advance as quick as we could through the levels.

The same applies to our young people today. Derby (2011) presented a wonderful example of integrating technology – and doing it well. The use of IPads enhances the subject matter, and made it much more exciting for those students to complete an assessment item, making them so much more engaged in their education. Although Derby (2011) highlighted the usefulness of technology in the area of English, I would love to see more examples of technology being used across different curriculum subjects.

References

Derby, B. (2011). Creativity in my pocket: No ‘I’ puns here. English in Australia 46(3).

2 thoughts on “Week 8 – Integrating popular technology into the classroom

  1. kristytaylor88

    I remember those ‘keyboard thingys’ too, Kristy!! I also remember that we had 1 Commodore 64 computer between 3 classes and it always, ALWAYS froze. I agree with you that times have certainly changed…and the way that kids learn has also changed, although not fundamentally. I think kids have always wanted learning to be fun, but these days they expect it. I asked a Year 6 class of boys to copy 3 sentences from the board the other day- oh, you should have seen the reaction!! Moans and groans and a strong reluctance to write anything at all. What did they want to do? They said I could email the word doc to them and save the planet as they weren’t wasting paper!
    It does have its advantages that’s for certain – teaching is easier with the aid of technology. Information is instant and reliable and children are naturally enthused by using the many Web 2.0 tools that are out there. It’s up to us as educators, however, to remain current and use them effectively to deliver curriculum. Now if only I can remember my password….

    Reply
  2. angelalibraryt

    Hi Kristy, Yes I’m sure it was a Typewrite. I remember them being very cool in primary school and consequently asked for one for Christmas! I then thought I was ultra cool as I had one at home. I spent hours on it and I actually have the Typewrite to thank for my touch typing skills! I’think though my first encounter with ‘technology’ may have been a little hand held game that you played tennis on. Yes, one game and it was tennis. But again would spend many hours trying to beat the same score. I think of how far the hand held games have come today with things like Nintendo DS whereby kids can play a multitude of games on it.
    And Kristy T I too have experienced the moans and groans of writing in my teaching. Some students now think that they don’t even have to bring a pen to school!

    Reply

Leave a comment